Prev: RE: [SG2] Sample platoon organization - request advice Next: [SG2] Battle Report - Newbies on Patrol [LONG]

Re: [sg] Support Weapon Questions

From: agoodall@c...
Date: 18 Jan 2001 13:54:25 -0800
Subject: Re: [sg] Support Weapon Questions

On Thu, 18 January 2001, "Bell, Brian K (Contractor)" wrote:

> A squad that has 6 soldiers with ARs (FP2) and 2 soldiers with MG SAWs
> in it and all elements fire at a target (combined fire), will roll 4
dice: 1
> die for quality, a d12 for the ARs, and 2 d8s for the SAWs (p.35 top
of 2nd
> column).


> Could the same squad, as above, fire the small arms and then fire the
> together (both SAWs at the same target) in one turn?

This is an area that is implied, but not stated, in the rulebook. In
similar situations, this is exactly how I've handled it. The SAWs can
fire with one action, and the rest can fire with the other. Or any
combination you want, so long as no weapon fires more than once per

> It would seem logical that the small arms would get 2 dice (quality
> firepower) in one action. And that the SAWs would get 3 dice (quality
and 2
> firepower) in the second.

Yep, Quality + D12 for the small arms, and Quality + D8 + D8 for the

Of course, you might be better off doing two attacks at Quality + D6 +
D8. The likelihood of suppression is a little less, but the likelihood
of casualties is greater. There's not a lot to choose between the two
attacks, though.

For an even greater chance of casualties, try Quality + D12 + D8 + D8 by
firing them all at once! Of course, you would only be laying down 1
suppression marker if you missed, though.

In similar cases, I've split fire to drop a couple of suppression
markers, and concentrated fire when the target already has one or two
suppressions (going for casualties, instead, in this case). 

> In a similar vein, if a squad has 2 targets does it take 2 actions to
> at both targets (or can you have part of the squad fire at one and the
> fire and the second in the same action)?

If there are two targets, it takes two actions. I believe that is
specifically mentioned in the rules. 

Allan Goodall -

Prev: RE: [SG2] Sample platoon organization - request advice Next: [SG2] Battle Report - Newbies on Patrol [LONG]