Re: Spinning in place...
From: Peggy & Jeff Shoffner <pshoffner@e...>
Date: Wed, 2 Jul 1997 01:33:57 -0400
Subject: Re: Spinning in place...
Robbie Matthews wrote:
>
> Quick question:
>
> How exactly does the zero-speed turn option work?
>
> The group I play with has this rule:
>
> If your ship decelerates to 0, it may turn in any direction it wishes.
This
> turn is done AFTER the other ships have moved.
>
> Ie: Turn 1 - Speed 4| -4| Spin
> Turn 2 - Accelerate
>
> This is actually quite handy, but I'm not sure that it is particularly
> gospel. Another interpretation could be:
>
> You must be AT speed 0 at the start of the turn to spin, thus:
>
> Turn 1 - Speed 4 | -4
> Turn 2 - Spin
> Turn 3 - Accelerate
We usually say the latter. Our thinking is Turn One, the ship is using
reverse thrust to basically "stop" and cannot have the power to spin at
the
same time. What I want to know is how can a ship be able to spin to
any
heading while at a dead stop, but can't make the same turn while moving?
Or
what I mean to say is, if a SD can only make a point compass point turn
while
its moving, it should only make a one compass turn while stopped. Heck,
I'd
even be generous and allow a two point turn while stopped; allow its
full
engine rating. But a full 180 degree spin? I don't think so.....
Jeff Shoffner