Prev: RE: [GZG] laser classes Next: RE: [GZG] Some easy Dirtside questions

Re: [GZG] laser classes

From: Roger Books <roger.books@g...>
Date: Mon, 24 Oct 2005 15:59:43 -0400
Subject: Re: [GZG] laser classes

Gzg-l mailing list you are saying
if I roll two 6s and a 3 on one die and a
7 6s and a 4 this combination doesn't count as a possible

You are starting from the assumption that you can roll a handful of dice
and get the correct number of combinations. You need to include all



On 10/24/05, B Lin <> wrote:
> The dice are only linked since we are looking at a specific incident
> by the rule that a 6 has to be rolled before you get a re-roll. For
> we know they rolled 22 dice for Class 1 beams that turn and only 2 got
> re-roll but went on to score an additional 15 points of damage. The
> point here is that all those events (all the non-rerolls) have no
> on the remaining 15 points of damage. By default, any roll that
> produce damage is not included in the calculation (for instance there
> really had to be 12 rolls not 10 since at some point they would have
> to roll a miss for each beam battery to end the streak). If the
> statement had been 19 points of damage from 2 class 1 batteries over
> game, then the calculation changes, since you then have to include all
> the die rolls of all the Class 1 batteries fired during the game, but
> the only way to get 19 points of damage from two Class 1 beam
> in a single turn is to roll 9 6's and a 4 or 5. (Had the damage total
> been an even number, then there would have been two possible damage
> combinations; all 6's or all 6's with the last two being 4 or 5's).
> --Binhan
> -----Original Message-----
> From:
> [] On Behalf Of Doug Evans
> Sent: Monday, October 24, 2005 1:02 PM
> To:
> Subject: RE: [GZG] laser classes
> For this discussion, these dice are linked, though.
> Die A could be 3, and die B could be 6; however, die B could be 3, and
> die
> A could be 6. Or both could be 6.
> If both are six, then you move on to the next roll with both dice.
> However,
> as either of the previous dice could have been six even if the other
> wasn't, you have a slightly greater chance of starting a run of sixes
> with
> two dice than with one. And that slightly better chance is found in
> case of rolling two dice.
> I think.
> Gawd, my brain hurts, and I have to go to a staff meeting.
> I think I gave up before, but this time I REALLY mean it.
> The_Beast
> _______________________________________________
> Gzg-l mailing list
> _______________________________________________
> Gzg-l mailing list

Prev: RE: [GZG] laser classes Next: RE: [GZG] Some easy Dirtside questions