Prev: 15mm Bug pics Next: First CanAm -- Canadian deadline

Re: [SG2] 2 questions

From: Yves Lefebvre <ivanohe@a...>
Date: Sun, 21 Jan 2001 22:48:31 -0500
Subject: Re: [SG2] 2 questions

Hi again!

>On Sat, 20 Jan 2001 20:57:40 -0500, Yves Lefebvre <>
>>Transferring Actions :
>>Can a command element transfer one action to an independent figure?
With a
>>sniper, this seems too powerfull. In our last game, we had rule it was
>>possible after seeing my sniper killing 2 leaders in a turn!
>Yes, it is possible.
>I haven't found it a problem. My snipers are the opposite of yours and
tend to
>get killed easily. *S*
>Losing a leader, while nasty, results in one casualty and maybe a
couple of
>suppression markers. Compare that to transferring an action to a squad
>having it conduct fire combat. It could do the same thing but with more

Don't forget the confidence test at threat level 3. I forgot to mention
that one of his squad has drop to Broken : having lost a leader and
confidence level the first turn, lost the new leader and badly roll for
(drop 2 CL) the second turn!

Against regular unit, the sniper is quite good (better if the lesder is
poor) for lowering confidence.

>Play some more games and you'll probably see that the independent
sniper is
>powerful, like a small squad, but that allowing it to get a Transfer
>isn't overpowering.

Well, I guess next time my opponent will send more troop to take care of
him. :)

>>Overruns and follow-through attacks: 
>>In doing close combat, if the defender withdraw and the attacker
decide to
>>do an overrun and succed, what exactly happen? The rule says that you
>>should do another Close assault combat. Does it means that the
>>need to do a new confidence test and possibly flee again?
>It is rather vague, isn't it? 
>I'm trying to remember how we did it. I believe we had the defender
making a
>Confidence Test. So, with the overrun, it is possible for the defender
to run
>away. However, if it does, we didn't allow a second overrun move by the

To finish my sniper story : after my opponent missed my sniper at short
range with his PA unit (4 men) he use his command squad to reactivate
PA unit and try a close assault. At that point, we realise that the
would never be able to pass his confidence test, so he was just
for 2 times (the PA's eventually fail their test for follow-through).
Finnaly, the sniper nerve failed after I rolled a 1 to remove a panic

Anyway, having a limitation on how many time you can overrun is good.
we can have units doing a lots of movement on the table during a close

Prev: 15mm Bug pics Next: First CanAm -- Canadian deadline